Newbie: how to dynamically add layer from oracle

07-02-2012 07:13 AM
steveevans
New Contributor
Total newbie here.

I have an asp .net (web) application that dynamically creates a new oracle table during a users session (table name is radomly generated).

This table has 3 columns: UniqueId, X_coord, Y_coord.

I need to change this app so that it can plot these points on a map

What is the best way of doing this within the javascript api (presuming javascript api is the way to go).

BTW, we have arcgis 10.1 server and desktop.

Thanks a whole lot in advance.

Steve
0 Kudos
5 Replies
derekswingley1
Frequent Contributor
You'll need to publish your table via ArcGIS Server to use it in a JavaScript API app. Since your table is generated per user session, I don't think there's a clean way to do this. Could you modify your architecture to always have a single table that has a user_id column and then filter records from the table based on a user_id? You could then have a process that periodically cleans up your table so it doesn't grow indefinitely.

Alternatively, if you know the name of the per-session table, and it's published as a web service, you could use esri.request to send a request to your web service to get your points.
0 Kudos
steveevans
New Contributor
swingley,

yes i could easily use a single table.

disadvatages with this approach (although not show stoppers):

- It will grow over time and will need some kind of maint (like purge entries > 2 days old).

- It will also become terribly fragmented which may affect performance

- there may be lock contention issues during insert/delete activity

i can get around all of the above issues with some engineering and will do this if there is no other way that's less complicated.

thank you a whole lot for your advice - i really was at a loss on how to proceed.

if anyone else has any ideas please share.

steve
0 Kudos
JohnnyPenet
New Contributor
Steve,