Zoom limit in ArcGIS OnLine Map

03-23-2012 01:37 PM
SierkOudemans
New Contributor II
Hi,

I am pretty new to ArcGIS Online and found that you can't seem to zoom in beyond a certain point, using an iPad, to something greater than 1:15,000 in ArcGIS Desktop terms.  Is this some built in limitation or is it something I am missing.  If it is the latter could you please provide instructions on how to remove this or a link to a document explaining the same. 

Thanks
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
The coverage at a given scale varies across the basemaps and within a given basemap. Typically, you can zoom in more to major metropolitan areas and less in rural areas. Here's an excerpt from the description of our World Topographic basemap.

The map provides coverage for the world down to a scale of ~1:72k. Coverage is provided down to ~1:4k for the following areas: Australia and New Zealand; Europe; Canada; Mexico; United States; parts of Southern Africa including Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, and Swaziland; and parts of South America including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, and Venezuela. Coverage down to ~1:1k and ~1:2k is available in select urban areas.

Other basemaps are similar.

Thanks,

Mike
0 Kudos
SierkOudemans
New Contributor II
Mike,

Is there any way to override this behaviour?  I have overlay layers that a user might want to zoom into closer then the base map allows.

Sierk
0 Kudos
MikeMinami
Esri Notable Contributor
The basemap determines the visible range of the map. For layers you add from the web (e.g., ArcGIS Server map servers, WMS, CSVs by reference), you can make these layers the basemap. Then you'd be able to zoom in.

Thanks,

Mike
0 Kudos
MichaelGilbrook2
New Contributor III