Field Calculator doesn't work in Arc10 tables

12-29-2011 06:52 AM
NicolaiBencke1
New Contributor
I can't get 'Field Calculator' to work in any of my tables since going to Arc10. This applies to shapefiles, personal gdbs and file gdbs, in edit sessions and outside edit sessions. I need this function constantly in my work, and filling in records one by one doesn't work for 50,000 records. I've got Service Pack 3 loaded and an ArcInfo license. I know my syntax is correct, I've been using this function for many years. Did something change that I'm missing, or do I need to try to re-load Arc10 completely?
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
15 Replies
Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor
Nicolai - by chance are you using VBA code blocks for the field calculations?  These are no longer supported in the ArcGIS v. 10 field calculator.  Possible workaround:  Use Python or VB Script code blocks in the Field Calculator.  Another possibility is to request a VBA authorization file from Esri keycodes - http://blogs.esri.com/Dev/blogs/arcgisdesktop/archive/2009/10/28/ArcGIS-Desktop-and-VBA_3F00_.aspx

Good luck!

Robert
Esri-Denver
0 Kudos
NicolaiBencke1
New Contributor
I'm just doing a simple statement to try to fill in a field.  I don't know any coding or scripting languages.  See attachment for an example.  The field I'm filling in is a text field with 12 characters.  The same thing happens (nothing) whether I'm in an edit session or not.  I'm hoping there's just some setting I could change or a box that needs to be checked that didn't exist in Arc9.
0 Kudos
HoraceShaw1
New Contributor
Any solution to this issue?  I have the same problem with field calculator.

Horace Shaw
Burlington, VT
0 Kudos
RichardFairhurst
MVP Honored Contributor