What is a proxy page?

11-08-2011 03:55 AM
GarethMann
New Contributor III
I am new to the Javascript API for ArcGIS. I am trying to get some of the samples working using my own data and ArcGIS Services. I note that many of the samples have this line of code:

//identify proxy page to use if the toJson payload to the geometry service is greater than 2000 characters. 
//If this null or not available the buffer operation will not work.  Otherwise it will do a http post to the proxy. 
esriConfig.defaults.io.proxyUrl = "/arcgisserver/apis/javascript/proxy/proxy.ashx"; 
esriConfig.defaults.io.alwaysUseProxy = false; 

I have absoluteluy no clue what any of this means! What is a proxy page? If I am using my own data can I just use the proxyURL provided by ESRI in the sample? If not how do I create my own one?

I tried googling the first comment "identify proxy page to use......." but all that came up in google was the same line from the code samples....
0 Kudos
6 Replies
derekswingley1
Frequent Contributor
Please take a look at the conceptual help topic for using a proxy:  http://help.arcgis.com/en/webapi/javascript/arcgis/help/jshelp/ags_proxy.htm

Using a proxy is a common technique in web development (not just GIS-based web dev) used to get around limitations imposed by the browser. Specifically, a proxy is used to get around the URL length limit that is present in IE and the same origin policy present in all browsers.

Side note:  please use esri.config as esriConfig was deprecated several releases ago.
0 Kudos
GarethMann
New Contributor III
Thank you.

Wow, using this Javascript API is getting more and more complicated than I had originally imagined. In the instructions you linked to, it says this:

"The proxy page runs on your local web server, not on an ESRI server or on the ArcGIS Server computer (unless your web server also hosts the ArcGIS Server instance). "