Select to view content in your preferred language

Batch project using Loop Script - Beginner needs Help!

10-08-2011 02:25 PM
MatthewBelsky
Emerging Contributor
Hello,

I am a beginniner scripter who is having some problems working on a script.  I am sure you guys will be able to help me out 🙂 Here is what the script must do:

The user opens a GUI window and enters two input parameters:
1) A target folder
2) A target projection dataset

The script then runs through all the feature classes in the target folder using a loop and re-projects them to the projection of the specified target projection dataset.

I also must:

1) Append "_projected" to the end of each projected dataset name
2) Skip projecting datasets that equal the target projection
3) Report a geoprocessing message saying what datasets were projected

Here are the problems I'm having (All because I'm a beginner and I'm quite sick right now - I have lyme disease and I'm having trouble with my cognition.  Ugh.  Please help!):

1) I'm confused about how to specify the target folder, target projectoin system, and output coordinate system as relative and not hard coded.  Do I use the arcpy.GetParameterAsText method, or is there an alternative method?  I'm especially confused about how to not hard code the output .prj coordinate system.

2) I'm not sure how to append "_projected.shp" to the end of the projected shapefiles.  I know there's the endswith method whereby you can remove the end characters of a file name, but I'm not sure how to apply that correctly.

3) I'm not sure how to correctly construct the output path name

4) I'm not sure how to check the input feature class and NOT project it if it has the same projectoin as the target feature class.  I know this involves creating a spatial reference object and comparing the two spatial reference objects against one another, but I don't believe my syntax is correct.