Dealing with multiple feature layers

07-01-2011 09:09 AM
AndrewBrown1
Occasional Contributor II
I'm developing a web mapping application where the client specifically requested the ability to turn each layer on and off, while retaining the ability to select the visible features. Out of 17 total layers, 15 need to be selectable by the user using a "select by shape" tool. Of these 15, 11 are points and 4 are polygons.

Now, what's the best way to handle these 15 layers? Do I need to create a esri.layers.FeatureLayer for each of these 15? Since I'm just selecting them, could I use esri.layers.querytask instead? Would I need to create a separate map service for each of these 15 as well?

Has anybody been in this situation before where your application has multiple selectable layers? How do you organize them within your map service?

I apologize for the ignorance, but this is my first project, and needless to say, it isn't small.

Thanks,
Andrew
0 Kudos
3 Replies
HemingZhu
Occasional Contributor III
I'm developing a web mapping application where the client specifically requested the ability to turn each layer on and off, while retaining the ability to select the visible features. Out of 17 total layers, 15 need to be selectable by the user using a "select by shape" tool. Of these 15, 11 are points and 4 are polygons.

Now, what's the best way to handle these 15 layers? Do I need to create a esri.layers.FeatureLayer for each of these 15? Since I'm just selecting them, could I use esri.layers.querytask instead? Would I need to create a separate map service for each of these 15 as well?

Has anybody been in this situation before where your application has multiple selectable layers? How do you organize them within your map service?

I apologize for the ignorance, but this is my first project, and needless to say, it isn't small.

Thanks,
Andrew