How do I create a flow map to specific points?

06-03-2020 08:21 PM
NateDavis
New Contributor

Hello Everyone!

I am new to ArcGIS, so I might be asking a simple question. My work gave me the task to create a flow map from specific points of interest to the visitor's specific census block group. The data I am working with is similar to the below table. The vistior_location is {"Census Block Group":"Number of visitors"}. In my project, I created a layer for census block groups in the region I am working in and converted the polygons to centroid points. The main question is how do I get ArcGIS pro to draw lines from the points of interest to the specific census block group of the visitor? Also, I would also like to display the number of visitors corresponding to the line color, like if 1-15 visitors from that CBG then the line is blue, 16-30 the line is red, etc. Last, I am running ArcGIS Pro 2.5.

In summary, I need to create a flow map from a location to their corresponding census block groups

Thank you everyone for your time and help in advance.

Place_IDLocation_NameLatitudeLongitudeVisitor_CBG_Location
123456McDonald's40.756631-73.988039{1010:20,4001:5,1007:3}
654321Burger King40.719457-73.986530{2003:5,1010:3}
314562Wendy's40.702661-74.012545{1010:3,1012:5,5003:20,1432:8}
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor

Depending on your licensing, I believe this can be accomplished a few different ways:

1. With Business Analyst, there's a GP tool called "Generate Desire Lines" that requires 2 point feature classes to do this workflow.  You'd have to do a few steps to get the count number generated for the color schemes you listed.
  2. With ArcGIS Insights, there's Link Analysis workflows that would work I suspect.  You can see a tutorial here.