Add markers

Jump to solution
02-21-2020 02:10 PM
AkbarBakhshi
New Contributor II

Hi guys. I am new to ArcGIS API, but have worked for a few months with Google Maps API. I was wondering if it's possible to add markers on a basemap (Client-side) with ArcGIS API, similar to dropping markers with click or double-clicking in Google Maps API?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AnneFitz
Esri Regular Contributor

Here's a Codepen for how to add a graphic on click: https://codepen.io/annefitz/pen/yLNVogB 

If you wanted to change it to on double-click, you would do the following: 

view.on("double-click", function(event){
   createGraphic(event.mapPoint.latitude, event.mapPoint.longitude);
});‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍

Let me know if you have any questions!

View solution in original post

7 Replies
WilliamCraft
MVP Regular Contributor

Yes, you can add point, line, and polygon graphics client side using the Javascript API.  Here is an example of how to add a point graphic:

require([
  "esri/Map",
  "esri/views/MapView",
  "esri/Graphic",
  "esri/layers/GraphicsLayer"
], function(Map, MapView, Graphic, GraphicsLayer) {
var graphicsLayer = new GraphicsLayer();
map.add(graphicsLayer);
var point = { type: "point", longitude: -118.80657463861, latitude: 34.0005930608889 }; 
var simpleMarkerSymbol = { type: "simple-marker", color: [226, 119, 40], // orange outline: { color: [255, 255, 255], // white width: 1 } };
var pointGraphic = new Graphic({ geometry: point, symbol: simpleMarkerSymbol }); 
graphicsLayer.add(pointGraphic);‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍
}

Source: Display point, line, and polygon graphics | ArcGIS for Developers 

0 Kudos
AnneFitz
Esri Regular Contributor

Here's a Codepen for how to add a graphic on click: https://codepen.io/annefitz/pen/yLNVogB 

If you wanted to change it to on double-click, you would do the following: 

view.on("double-click", function(event){
   createGraphic(event.mapPoint.latitude, event.mapPoint.longitude);
});‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍

Let me know if you have any questions!