Deploying a Custom Web Map App on Portal

03-02-2016 01:22 PM
BrandynFriedly
New Contributor

Hi All,

I'm new to ArcGIS Portal and the JS API, and am looking to start publishing in-house web apps for our organization.  One thing that I'm struggling to find in documentation is how to create and deploy a completely custom web map application on Portal.

It looks to me from the documents that you have to use the Web App Builder and pick widgets/themes, but what if I'd like to just write a map app from scratch?  Is there any reason why you can't just use Leaflet or OpenLayers.js to create a map that is served up by Portal and communicating with your ArcGIS Server?  I guess I don't understand why I'd need ESRI/Leaflet and have Dojo baked into all my apps.

So my two questions are:

1. Can I just write the code for an app and deploy that to Portal, without using a Web App Builder?
  2. Do I have to use ArcGIS.js?

Any suggestions or reading related to this would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Brandyn

0 Kudos
7 Replies
MichaelLinden
New Contributor II

Hi, are you still wondering about this? 

0 Kudos
AdrianWelsh
MVP Honored Contributor

Michael,

Do you have a good reply for this? It looks like when this thread was created, I must have clicked "I have the same question" since I got a notice when you replied!

0 Kudos
MichaelLinden
New Contributor II

Hi Adrian,

If i'm interpreting the question correctly, then yes I do. Are you wanting to create your own themes and widgets instead of using the out of the box web app builder widgets/themes?

0 Kudos
AdrianWelsh
MVP Honored Contributor

Yes? I can't remember why I marked I had the same question but I must had needed this somewhere down the line. But yes, I want to [at some point] create my own widgets/themes.

0 Kudos
MichaelLinden
New Contributor II