Python Toolbox Derived Output Issues

01-10-2016 06:07 PM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I am creating a python toolbox in ArcGIS 10.1 and have a python script working as a stand-along script but when I try to bring it into a python toolbox the tool does OK at creating an output XYZ event theme layer with the arcpy.MakeXYEventLayer_management tool and then I do create an output fc using arcpy.FeatureClassToFeatureClass_conversion which does create the fc on disk but when I try to use this fc as input in the next process to create a new fc that uses filter (sql_where_clause) the tool can not recognize the input fc that was just created on disk.  I am new at python toolboxes and think it is likely that I am not using the tools parameters properly. After having read all of the forums etc. that I could find I still am no closer to figuring this out. When I hard code the fc paths and use those as inputs into the next tool I use in the process the code can complete OK albeit not getting it using dynamic parameters.  The majority of the code I am using is below. Any suggestions about how to use the python toolbox parameters correctly?

class Toolbox(object):
    def __init__(self):
        """Define the toolbox (the name of the toolbox is the name of the
        .pyt file)."""
        self.label = "Toolbox"
        self.alias = ""

# List of tool classes associated with this toolbox
        self.tools = [Tool_Test]

class Tool_Test(object):
    def __init__(self):
        """Define the tool (tool name is the name of the class)."""
        self.label = "Tool"
        self.description = ""
        self.canRunInBackground = False

def getParameterInfo(self):
        """Define parameter definitions"""
        params = None
        """Define well location input csv file parameter definitions"""
        # First parameter
        param0 = arcpy.Parameter(
            displayName="Input File",
            name="in_file",
            datatype="DEFile",