Batch define projection with Python

09-22-2010 07:56 AM
SofiaStouki
New Contributor II
Hi all,

I am fairly new to Python and I have been trying to make a script work-to assign a GC system to a number of shapefiles in a folder.(The GC system is currently Unknown so I cannot use the other tools in batch mode)

I am using Python 2.5 and Arc 9.3.1 but I keep getting errors
( for fc in fcS:
TypeError: 'geoprocessing list object' object is not iterable)

that don't really tip me off about what it s going wrong (newbie)

My code is:
import arcgisscripting
gp = arcgisscripting.create()

gp.workspace = "P:\Proj"
gp.toolbox = "management"
coordsys = "Coordinate Systems/Projected Coordinate Systems/National Grids/British National Grid.prj"
fcs = gp.ListFeatureClasses()
for fc in fcS:
gp.defineprojection(fcS, coordsys)

I am certain there are a lot of errors there, but if anyone can assist with the iteration/listing of the shapefiles in the folder it would be great.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
S.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
JamesHood
Occasional Contributor
Try this.  It should clean up most of the minor errors.

import arcgisscripting, sys, os
gp = arcgisscripting.create()

# Load required toolboxes...
gp.AddToolbox("C:/Program Files/ArcGIS/ArcToolbox/Toolboxes/Data Management Tools.tbx")

#workspace
gp.Workspace = "P:\\Proj"

coordsys = "C:\\Program Files\\ArcGISCoordinate Systems\\Projected Coordinate Systems\\National Grids\\British National Grid.prj"

#List all features in  gp.workspace
fcs = gp.ListFeatureClasses("", "")
fc = fcs.Next()

for fc in fcs:
     gp.defineprojection(fcS, coordsys)
     print fc + " is defined."

The directory of your tool box and coordinate file may differ from mine.  check that in case of error.
0 Kudos
SofiaStouki
New Contributor II
Hi James,

thanks for your code. I tried it (after checking the paths) and I still get the same error

<type 'exceptions.TypeError'>: 'geoprocessing list object' object is not iterable