How to use a click button to print map which is already created

03-23-2015 02:08 PM
RyanYang
New Contributor

I just got a task to add a print button to web page. Once user clicks this button, the map should be printed. Since the project is already there, I don't want make too much change to it. Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
29 Replies
OwenEarley
Occasional Contributor III

If you are using the ESRI JS API then check out the PrintTask. There are also a few PrintTask samples available - Samples | ArcGIS API for JavaScript.

0 Kudos
RyanYang
New Contributor

Owen. Thank you very much. Since I'm new to esri and dojo. I don't know how to implement these samples in my project. Actually my project already created the map in a init() function such as dojo.addOnLoad(init). Now I just want to add one onclick function to the page. Can I do like this? function printMap(){   var url='hhttp://sampleserver6.arcgisonline.com/arcgis/rest/services/Utilities/PrintingTools/GPServer/Export%2...   var printTask = new esri.tasks.PrintTask(url);   var params = new esri.tasks.PrintParameters();   params.map = map;   printTask.execute(params, printResult); }

0 Kudos
ChrisSergent
Regular Contributor III

Here is our custom print task that is done using our own web services: Print a Map

Click on the hammer to bring up the print button and then click on the print button for the custom print dialog box.

Here is the source code: JS Bin - Collaborative JavaScript Debugging  You will need to create your own images for your buttons or you can copy ours.

0 Kudos
RyanYang
New Contributor

Hi Chris,

Thanks for your reply. It's very helpful. Following your code, I have changed my code as follows.

function printMap(){

document.getElementById("printMap").innerHTML = "Printing...";

document.getElementById("printMap").disabled = true;

esriConfig.defaults.io.proxyUrl = "proxy.ashx";

esri.config.defaults.io.alwaysUseProxy = false;