Python error question

01-22-2015 04:33 PM
PROBERT68
Frequent Contributor

I am a beginner and just starting to learn how to use Python I learned from Python Scripting for Map  Automation.

My question to you is that whenever I get an error I see the word Traceback or errors in highlight red in my python window. 

My question to you is do I need to have a pythonWin installed ? My computer at work does not have it but I use the python  Window inside ArcMap.

Are there site that can I read or learn about the Traceback error ? I am sure there are bunch of question that Traceback has in it.

So what does Traceback means and what does it do ?

Thanks

0 Kudos
34 Replies
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

It helps to "trace back" the line where the error occurred.

The documentation can be found here:

28.10. traceback — Print or retrieve a stack traceback — Python 2.7.9 documentation

And you should read this help topic: Error handling with Python

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

the python docs are here why dont you install pythonwin and/or Pyscripter the Arc* ide is pretty useless

0 Kudos
FranciscoGirón_Gesteira
New Contributor

If you are just beginning there is no need to install anything. Every Python installation includes IDLE, a simple grafical interface with many basic funtionalities including debugging, colorizing, auto-indentation, etc. Not as good as Pyscripter, but is already installed. I personally don't like Pythonwin. Just a thing, if using an external IDE, remember putting an "import arcpy" line at the start of every script you write.

If you are able to install Pyscripter set up the options to read arcpy help and perform code completion with it. Just add arcpy to the special packages line under code completion in IDE options.