How to use defined parameters in a tool ?

Jump to solution
08-07-2014 04:15 AM
CARMETSandrine
New Contributor II

I'm very new at python, and I don't understand how to use the defined parameters in the source code of the tool.

I'm trying to create a tool (with clip and contour tools) who can be used by any user (not specified folders or classes). My script is in attachment.

Can somebody take a look ? :S

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

To get you started, have a look at the code below. Use this script by adding it as a script to a new toolbox.

Define the 5 parameters as explained on line 18 - 22

#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

# Name:        clip_contour.py

# Purpose:     clip raster and create contours

#

# Author:      Sandrine Carmet

#

# Created:     08/08/2014

#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

class LicenseError(Exception):

pass

def main():

import arcpy

import os

# read the parameters

fc_extent = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(0) # define as featurelayer, filter polygon, direction input

ras_in = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(1) # define as rasterlayer, direction input

ras_clip = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(2) # define as raster dataset, direction output

fc_contour = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(3) # define as featureclass, direction output

interval = arcpy.GetParameter(4) # define as Double, set min and max range, provide default

# configuration of contours

contour_interval = interval # not 4...

base_contour = 0

z_factor = 1

try:

if arcpy.CheckExtension("3D") == "Available":

arcpy.CheckOutExtension("3D")

else:

# raise exception

raise LicenseError

# set in memory workspace

arcpy.env.workspace = "IN_MEMORY"

# Determine the extent of the fc

extent = arcpy.Describe(fc_extent).extent

ext_txt = "{0} {1} {2} {3}".format(extent.XMin, extent.YMin, extent.XMax, extent.YMax)

# Clip the raster