How to use defined parameters in a tool ?

Jump to solution
08-07-2014 04:15 AM
CARMETSandrine
New Contributor II

I'm very new at python, and I don't understand how to use the defined parameters in the source code of the tool.

I'm trying to create a tool (with clip and contour tools) who can be used by any user (not specified folders or classes). My script is in attachment.

Can somebody take a look ? :S

Thanks

0 Kudos
14 Replies
CARMETSandrine
New Contributor II

Thanks Adam for the tips ! I'm going to take a look

0 Kudos
ToddUlery
Occasional Contributor

This is not helpful to the problem, but just curious why the choice for a python toolbox.
I just haven't found a reason to do this yet.

I am currently looking into your problem though.

0 Kudos
CARMETSandrine
New Contributor II

I create this python toolbox to facilitate a big number of tasks by automating a sucession of tools.

But I find out the solution thanks to all for your advices.

I was just complicating myself with a tons of parameters.

Thanks everyone!

0 Kudos
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

To get you started, have a look at the code below. Use this script by adding it as a script to a new toolbox.

Define the 5 parameters as explained on line 18 - 22

#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

# Name:        clip_contour.py

# Purpose:     clip raster and create contours

#

# Author:      Sandrine Carmet

#

# Created:     08/08/2014

#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

class LicenseError(Exception):

pass

def main():

import arcpy

import os

# read the parameters

fc_extent = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(0) # define as featurelayer, filter polygon, direction input

ras_in = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(1) # define as rasterlayer, direction input

ras_clip = arcpy.GetParameterAsText(2) # define as raster dataset, direction output