Intersect v/s Union

09-18-2015 07:51 AM
YusufMohamedshah
New Contributor

I am new to ArcGIS. I am trying to use Linear Referencing Tool: Overlay Route Events. I have two dbf files: One is a line file and another is a point file. I want to do an overlay of point file to line file and get the results as a UNION. But I get an error. However if I do INTERSECT it works fine.

So the question is: Why an INTERSECT works but UNION does not work. If I want the results as UNION, is there a work around.

I would appreciate any input.

Thanks

0 Kudos
12 Replies
TimWitt2
MVP Alum

Union does not work with a point or a line feature. It only works with polygon features.

What is the goal of doing what you want to do? That might help us to help you.

0 Kudos
YusufMohamedshah
New Contributor

I am working with highway data. I have two files: a roadway centerline file in which each segment is identified by RouteID, FromMeasure and ToMeasure. And a roadway signs file in which each sign is identified by RouteID and FromMeasure. My goal is to locate the signs on the roadway and produce an output file with all the roadway segments with signs info attached. Hence I wanted to do  UNION so that I can get all the roadway columns as well as Signs columns in the final file.

Thanks

0 Kudos
NeilAyres
MVP Alum

Sorry, files???

Is this spatial, well at least the roadway center lines?

If you have roadway centerlines as a feature class with measures (PolylineM), then you can join the signs table to it by creating route events. This problem has nothing to do with union or other geometry overlay operations.

0 Kudos
YusufMohamedshah
New Contributor

Thanks Neil for your reply.