Using the R-Arc GIS Bridge on Posit's Shiny Server

a week ago
AnthonyCastelletto
New Contributor II

Hello community,

I'm a new member and new the R bridge in general. I just installed the packages in R and the dependencies worried me. What I want to do is use the bridge in a Shiny app hosted on our Posit subscription. Has anyone tried to use use the bridge this way? What were the pitfalls you ran into and how did you work around them?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
JosiahParry
New Contributor II

Hi Anothony, there are a number of packages that you might be referring to. Which package did you install and want to use within a shiny application? Which dependencies make you worried? They're quite standard for geospatial packages. 

Thanks 🙂 

0 Kudos
AnthonyCastelletto
New Contributor II

Bear in mind, I am completely new to this so I might be using incorrect terms or trying something weird.  Anyhow, I installed the arcgis package in R through my desktop R Studio. The then wanted to compile arcgisutils and arcgisbinding. Both of these required the installation of the rust compiler and that required me to install additional modules along the way. That's my worry. I want to make what I'm creating available as a script other people in my work group can run and we're spread across several institutions and countries. So my natural thought was to throw it on my Shiny subscription and figure out some kind of authentication.

0 Kudos
EricaNova
Occasional Contributor II

The dependencies that worry me are that it needs to connect to an active license (which makes sense), but it probably wouldn't be able to do that from a Shiny Server...

0 Kudos
JosiahParry
New Contributor II

{arcgisbinding} which utilizes ArcGIS Pro's capabilities and thus requires and active ArcGIS Pro license is not compatible with Linux so it would not work with Shiny Server. 

The other packages—{arcgislayers}, {arcgisgeocode}, and {arcgisplaces}—can work in any OS.