install error with R 4.0

Jump to solution
06-04-2020 02:25 PM
PeteDowty
New Contributor

I'm just getting started with an R-ArcGIS Bridge tutorial.

I'm running ArcGIS Pro 2.5.1 on Windows running as Parallels virtual machine on MacOS.

I first installed the bridge from Pro (Project-Options-Geoprocessing) with R 3.6 installed on my system.  I then upgraded R to 4.0.  

When I try to run in R just two lines:

library(arcgisbinding)

arc.check_product()

I get the following error in the R console:

"Error: package or namespace load failed for 'arcgisbinding':

package 'arcgisbinding' was installed before R 4.0.0: Please reinstall it."

I then run "remove.packages("arcgisbinding") from the R console.  This appears to successfully remove the package because in R if I try to load it (with library(arcgisbinding)) I get "there is no package called 'arcgisbinding'". In Pro on the Project tab Options-Geoprocessing page, the pulldown menu has changed back to "Please install the ArcGIS R integration package".

I then re-install from Pro with R 4.0 home directory selected and using the "install package from the internet" from the pull down menu. I am asked for confirmation (New arcgisbinding version 1.0.1.239 is available. Would you like to install it?) and the output from the install is "package 'arcgisbinding' successfully unpacked and MD5 sums checked. Completed".

In Pro, the pull down on the Options-Geoprocessing page is changed to "Check package for updates" so I assume ArcGIS Pro had a successful install.

In R, the "library(arcgisbinding)" statement gives me the same error at top (package installed before R4.0: Please reinstall it".

I haven't seen anything mentioning incompatibility with R 4.0.  I see two possible options:  go back to R 3.6 and try that, or uninstall R and ArcGIS Pro and start over.

Anyone else have this experience, or any suggestions?

thank you

pd

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ShaunWalbridge
Esri Regular Contributor