Using Get Count to get a percentage and Add Message

Jump to solution
02-12-2021 08:17 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hello,

I am writing a script from an existing workflow to automate a recurring QC for floodplain data. In the workflow, you need to get the number of passing test points and divide by the total number of points. I am attempting to do this using arcpy.GetCount_management() for the passing points and dividing by the same function for the total number of points. 

I have been successful at getting the function to work and return a print string of the number of results (i.e. "Lyr has 8373 Passing Results"), but I have not been able to perform the division of the two results to get the percentage. Am I missing something? Or is there a better way to go about this? I am relatively new to scripting.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

.format isn't working since passct is int type.

for it to run get rid of the int type conversion int():

passct = (arcpy.GetCount_management(test_pts).getOutput(0))

when you want to do any division, ensure both numbers are of the int type - you can test this with print(type(passct))

#passct is a string
passct_string = (arcpy.GetCount_management(test_pts).getOutput(0))
#passct is an int
passct_int = int(arcpy.GetCount_management(test_pts).getOutput(0))

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

It would help seeing the code to see what your expression is but for the sake of throwing darts, are you casting the values to int's before dividing?

0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Here is a sample of the code (using ArcPro) for selecting passing points and getting the count. I have tried to cast the output as an integer but I get this error:

arcpy.management.SelectLayerByAttribute(test_pts, 'NEW_SELECTION',"Status = 'Pass'", 'NON_INVERT')
passct = int(arcpy.GetCount_management(test_pts).getOutput(0))