Updating group layer symbology in arcpy

06-20-2016 12:58 PM
AndrewGehlot
New Contributor II

I'm new to python, but I'm trying to apply the symbology from one layer to a group of others without manually importing each one. I could build a model using the ApplySymbologyFromLayer_management tool, but it does not work if there are features (e.g. polygons) missing in the layer; but I want these feature classes present across all layers because I am drawing them in. I was able to use the following python script to apply symbology to a single layer from another:

>>> import arcpy

>>> mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument("Current")

>>> df = arcpy.mapping.ListDataFrames(mxd, "Layers")[0]

>>> updateLayer = arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd, "T33001700", df)[0]

>>> sourceLayer = arcpy.mapping.Layer(r"For Review\T23001510")[0]

Runtime error

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "<string>", line 1, in <module>

TypeError: 'Layer' object does not support indexing

>>> sourceLayer = arcpy.mapping.Layer(r"T23001510")

>>> arcpy.mapping.UpdateLayer(df, updateLayer, sourceLayer, True)

#But if I try to change the update layer to:

>>> updateLayer = arcpy.mapping.ListLayer(mxd, "In Progress", df) #where "In Progress" is the group of layers I want to change the symbology of

#then I get the error:

Runtime error

File "c:\program files (x86)\arcgis\desktop10.4\arcpy\arcpy\utils.py", line 182, in fn_

return fn(*args, **kw)

File "c:\program files (x86)\arcgis\desktop10.4\arcpy\arcpy\mapping.py", line 1888, in UpdateLayer

assert isinstance(update_layer, Layer)

AssertionError

0 Kudos
7 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

sourceLayer = arcpy.mapping.Layer(r"For Review\T23001510")[0]

did you try just removing [0] from the line?

0 Kudos
AndrewGehlot
New Contributor II

Thanks for the reply.

Yes I did and I get the error:

Runtime error

File "c:\program files (x86)\arcgis\desktop10.4\arcpy\arcpy\utils.py", line 182, in fn_

return fn(*args, **kw)