update cursor invalid sql statement

Jump to solution
03-11-2016 09:01 AM
BrianLomas
Occasional Contributor III

I'm new to python so forgive me if this seems like a dumb question... I work for the city and we get parcel information monthly from the county. Usually the data comes in a text file which I then put in an mdb. I'm trying to write some code to run an update our layers with the updated monthly information. Currently, I've just been trying to get a few fields to update  inside a 'test' file geodatabase but I'm stuck. I get the following error message with the following code. Any ideas?

0 Kudos
17 Replies
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Please post Python questions with the code in the question as text (formatted in a code block) -- It allows others to try your code without retyping it from scratch.  If you need to redact pieces, be sure to explain what they were sufficiently so that suitable scaffolding can be applied.

- V

BrianLomas

I wasn't sure on how to do that, so thanks for the info. Here's the code.

import arcpy
countyTB =...January2015Ownership.mdb\January2015Ownership'
fc = ...ParcelPythonCOPIES.gdb\Parcel_092015COPY"
with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(countyTB, ["*"]) as rows:
    for row in rows:
        fields = rows.fields
        idfield = fields.index('PARCEL_')
        with arcpy.da.UpdateCursor(fc,['situs', 'current_ow'], "%s = %s" % ('parcel_id', row[idfield])) as urows:
            for urow in urows:
                  urow[1] = row[1]
                  urows.UpdateRow(urow)
                  del urow
        del row
0 Kudos
XanderBakker

I would probably do something along the lines of:

import arcpy
countyTB = r'...January2015Ownership.mdb\January2015Ownership'
fc = r'...ParcelPythonCOPIES.gdb\Parcel_092015COPY'

# create a dictionary
dct = {r[0]: r[1] for r in arcpy.da.SearchCursor(countyTB, ('PARCEL_', 'TheOtherFieldNameAtIndex1'))}

with arcpy.da.UpdateCursor(fc, ('parcel_id', 'current_ow')) as curs:
    for row in curs: