Trouble Calculating a Field

Jump to solution
12-11-2014 09:29 AM
MarkAccettulla
New Contributor

I don't know a whole lot about python and scripting, so I was hoping somebody could give me a couple pointers on fixing some python.  I am trying to calculate a "final results" attribute field.  The field type is numeric, because I want the values to either be a 1 (pass) or 0 (fail).  I have attached 2 variations of the code I have tried, but they both give me errors.  The two fields I am trying to calculate from are both text fields, and the values for both are either "PASS" or "FAIL."

I know that this should be a simple task, but like I said I am very very new to python.  Any help or pointers would be much appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

If the fields are numeric then return 0 or 1 if they are text enclose them in double quotes.  Also Pass and Fail need to be in double quotes. Also take your def into a real python IDE and test it...your indentation could be off

Also since you have so few combinations check this logic using nested if.  No code def required...not tested but you can play with the logic

"0" if !Test1! == "Fail" else ("0" if !Test2! == "Fail" else "1")  # python of course

View solution in original post

10 Replies
KevinBell
Occasional Contributor III

Your 2.jpg is really close.  I think you need quotes around "FAIL" and "PASS", but not around 1 or 0.  You probably need to wrap your field names with ! as well.

0 Kudos
MarkAccettulla
New Contributor

Making those changes to my 2.jpg gives me an "invalid syntax" error that I wasn't getting before

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

If the fields are numeric then return 0 or 1 if they are text enclose them in double quotes.  Also Pass and Fail need to be in double quotes. Also take your def into a real python IDE and test it...your indentation could be off