TableToExcel - Loop

06-13-2017 01:24 PM
DougHaller1
New Contributor III

Hi GeoNet and thanks in advance. I'm new to Python. 

My goal is to write a script that converts all the shapefiles in a gdb into a csv (although I will take an Excel spreadsheet, too).  I plan to convert the final program into a script tool with parameters for which gdb to access and where to save the spreadsheets. I can get a single shapefile to convert into an Excel spreadsheet. I would like to loop through the gdb and convert each shapefile to a unique csv (for this case, let's assume that the gdb contains only shapefiles).

My code fails and I have received a couple of different error messages depending on the variable I use for the in_table argument (hope I have that right).  

I suspect that I am not correctly naming my in_table and out_xls variables.

Here's a screen shot of my code. Sorry for the small size, not sure how to enlarge the text.

tabletoexcel loop

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
28 Replies
BruceHarold
Esri Regular Contributor

Doug

It looks like you are writing into a File Geodatabase directory, which isn't recommended.

It also looks like you want to push the data to OneDrive.

Data Interoperability extension can do this all in one hit with a Spatial ETL tool, and the tool is scriptable with Python like any geoprocessing tool.  You do of course need the extension and there is a learning curve, but we're here to help.  Web as a filesystem is a growing use case.

DougHaller1
New Contributor III

Thanks Bruce.

I read about Spatial ETL. It looks like I may not have the extension. In my toolbox under Data Interoperability Tools I see quick import and export tools.  When I select Customize - Extensions, Spatial ETL is not listed. I have access to about 8 other extensions on my current student subscription to 10.3 desktop