Table to Excel

06-18-2014 07:38 AM
JohnByrne
New Contributor
Hi,

I am currently trying to use the Table to Excel script to produce a table of a query that I have created. It returns all the fields not just the selected one. Any ideas? I am sure it is simple

Thanks

John
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
JoshuaChisholm
Occasional Contributor III
Hello John,

As far as I understand it, the Table To Excel tool will export selected records (not selected fields) to an excel table. If you only want selected field in the excel table, I think you would have to use the Make Table View tool before the Table To Excel tool. You could use the "field_info" parameter to pick out your desired fields.

Hope that helps!
0 Kudos
JohnByrne
New Contributor
Hi Joshua,

Thanks for replying, that certainly looks promising. I am actually trying to export the table based on a query I have already ran and linked to Data Driven Pages. How would I refernce that in the Make Table View? I am new to this so please excuse the silly question.

I have linked my current attempt at the script, which works for the initial part of what I am trying to achieve, just failing at the output.
I have attached my script so you can maybe see it easier.
Thanks
0 Kudos
JoshuaChisholm
Try this:

def table_to_excel(in_table, output, use_field_alias=False, use_domain_desc=False):
    desiredFields=["Field1","Field3","Field8"] #desired fields for excel output

# Get the fields from the input
    fields= arcpy.ListFields(in_table)

# Create a fieldinfo object
    fieldinfo = arcpy.FieldInfo()

# Iterate through the fields and set them to fieldinfo
    for field in fields:
        if field in desiredFields:
            fieldinfo.addField(field.name, field.name, "VISIBLE", "")

# The created crime_view layer will have fields as set in fieldinfo object
    arcpy.MakeTableView_management(in_table, "table_view", "", "", fieldinfo)

# To persist the layer on disk make a copy of the view