Selecting By Attribute and preforming function

03-22-2021 09:12 AM
KeoniJames-Ashkewe
New Contributor

Hello,

I'm pretty new to ArcGIS Python scripting, I hope this question isn't dumb. How would clip/intersect after selecting that layer in ArcPy based on a specific attribute? . When I write out the statement to select by a specific attribute, then write out a clip or intersect statement right after, it seems to completely ignore that I just wrote a selection by attribute statement above it. The function just completes on the entire layer rather than the selection.

I've already looked at the help section for both to see if I was messing up in the syntax, to no avail. Any suggestions? 

0 Kudos
5 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

Sharing your code would be a good first step

KeoniJames-Ashkewe
New Contributor

Here it is - my question is how to carry on the selected layer? Or if there's a was I was write in the clip statement to select a specific attribute in the table.

import arcpy

print("ArcPy Imported ")

#set variables

# chose an output database
arcpy.env.workspace = r'C:\Users\JAMES KEONI\Documents\ArcGIS\Projects\Flow Map\Flow Map.gdb'
print("Workspace Created")

# arcpy.env.workspace = "C:/data" arcpy.Buffer_analysis("roads", "C:/output/majorrdsBuffered", "100 Feet", "FULL",
# "ROUND", "LIST", "Distance")
path = r'C:\Users\JAMES KEONI\Documents\ArcGIS\Projects\Flow Map\Buffer'
print("Path Created")

# Create Buffer Layer
arcpy.Buffer_analysis(Centroid_Map_XYTableToPoint, buffer, "200 kilometers")
print("Buffer Layer Created")

# arcpy.management.SelectLayerByAttribute(in_layer_or_view, {selection_type}, {where_clause}, {invert_where_clause})
arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management("Lakehead_Forest_Processing", "NEW_SELECTION", "FMU_NAME = 'Lakehead Forest' ")

print("Layer Selected")

# arcpy.analysis.Clip(in_features, clip_features, out_feature_class, {cluster_tolerance})