searchcursor to compare records

Jump to solution
03-22-2016 07:42 AM
BrianLomas
Occasional Contributor III

I'm new to python so forgive me if this seems like an easy question... I want to compare fields of an mdb and a FC to identify inconsistencies. Also, the field names do not match. So, I have a script using a searchcursor and lists. Right now the script runs but it only seems to run on the first field and I need it to loop through 12 total. Any ideas on how to keep the loop running through all the fields?

from time import strftime  

print "Start script: " + strftime("%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S")  

import arcpy  

sourceFC = "M:\...\January2015Ownership"

sourceFieldsList = ["PARCEL_","SITUS", "CURRENT_OWNER", "CO_OWNER", "OWNER_MAILADDR", "OWNER_CITY_STATE", "OWNER_ZIPCODE",  "TAX_DISTRICT", "TAX_CODE", "SEC", "TOWNSHIP", "RANGE", "LEGAL"]  

# Use list comprehension to build a dictionary from a da SearchCursor  
valueDict = {r[0]:(r[1:]) for r in arcpy.da.SearchCursor(sourceFC, sourceFieldsList)}  

updateFC = "M:\...\TaxParcel_COPY"

updateFieldsList = ['PARCELID','SITEADDRESS','OWNERNME1', 'OWNERNME2', 'PSTLADDRESS', 'PSTLCITY', 'ZIPCODE', 'TAX_DIST',  'TAX_CODE', 'SEC', 'TWN', 'RGE', 'PRPRTYDSCRP']  

with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(updateFC, updateFieldsList) as originalRows:  
        for originalRow in originalRows:
            # store the Join value of the row being original in a keyValue variable  
            keyValue = originalRow[0]  
            # verify that the keyValue is in the Dictionary  
            if keyValue in valueDict:
                   for n in range (1,len(sourceFieldsList)):  
                        if originalRow != valueDict[keyValue][n-1]:
                            print(str(keyValue) + ' was Changed in field "' + sourceFieldsList + '"')
                            break 

else:  
                print(str(keyValue) + ' check')
                break  

del valueDict  

print "Finished script: " + strftime("%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S")
0 Kudos