Script Tool to calculate field with selected rows not working

Jump to solution
06-05-2024 09:17 AM
MichaelBowers
New Contributor II

Although having a few years experience using ArcGIS Pro, I just started learning Python a few weeks ago so if this is all over the place... bare with me I'm doing the best I can right now.

I am trying to create a Script Tool that will 1)  select records in my feature layer based on a date range in a date field (date only), and then 2) calculate a field for those selected records ONLY to a desired string that the layer's symbology is based off of.

The script:

# Process: Select Layer By Date And Time (Select Layer By Date And Time) (ca)
Project_Selection, Row_Count = arcpy.ca.SelectLayerByDateAndTime(in_layer_or_view=Project_Layer, selection_type="NEW_SELECTION", time_type="SINGLE_TIME_FIELD", date_field="Date", selection_options=["DATE"], date_selection_type="DATE_RANGE", start_date=StartDate, end_date=EndDate)

# Process: Calculate Field with Selection (Calculate Field) (management)
Project_Calc = arcpy.management.CalculateField(in_table=Project_Selection, field="Symbology", expression="\"Beyond 90\"")

This is the result of my Script Tool right now. It has the records selected accurately based on my date range, but calculates the entire layer's Symbology field to "Beyond 90" when I need it to only calculate the selected records. 

MichaelBowers_1-1717604073418.png

If I perform this process manually, the calculate field tool will use the 18 selected records and update those 18 selected records' fields only.

Please let me know if you have any suggestions.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BlakeTerhune
MVP Regular Contributor

I have a question about your logic. You are creating a new field called DATE (which is a reserved word, so I suggest you pick a different name) and setting all the (selected) records to the same value: StartDate