Replace Multiple Values in an Attribute Table Field using Field Calculator

Jump to solution
10-27-2017 02:00 PM
RebeccaLeach
New Contributor III

I'm new to python and trying to write a python script using the field calculator in ArcMap for a specific field in an attribute table that will replace some of the values in the field but leave the other values as they are within the table. For example: ""fourth" must be changed to "4th" whereas "Neilston" should remain as it is in the field. The field in the table looks like this:

enter image description here

The python script used in the codeblock looks like this:

def streetNUM(field):

if field == "Fourth":

field.replace ("Fourth","4th")
  elif field == "Fifth":

field.replace ("Fifth","5th")
  else:
    return field

And then in the box below the codeblock I have:

streetNUM(!FULLNAME!)

Nothing seems to change and I get an error code saying "Field is not nullable [FULLNAME]". Any suggestions as to where I may be going wrong with my code?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Use 'in' since a string is an iterable.  You want to check to see if the sequence 'Fourth' (etc) is in the value returned by the row in the field

field = "Fourth Street"

if 'Fourth' in field:
    print('4th')
else:
    print('Nope')

4th

View solution in original post

12 Replies
RandyBurton
MVP Alum

Try:

def streetNUM(field):

if field == "Fourth":
    return field.replace("Fourth","4th")

elif field == "Fifth":
    return field.replace("Fifth","5th")

else:
    return field
RebeccaLeach
New Contributor III

Thanks for the input!  I got same answer on another forum where I posted the same question.  I made the suggested changes.  When I ran the Field Calculator tool this time, I got no error codes, but none of the values changed in the "FULLNAME" field.  "Fourth" stayed as "Fourth" instead of changing to "4th".

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus