Python script to loop through folders and replace data sources running slow

01-09-2020 09:56 AM
ChaseSchieffer
New Contributor II

Hello,

I have a python script that will loop through all folders and sub folders in a specified directory searching for mxd's with a specific data source. If the data source is found it will replace that data source with a new one.

The script I have works, but it is very slow. I did it on a test folder with 3 sub folders and a total of 9 maps. It took a little over 30 minutes. I am far from an expert on python scripting - is there anything anyone can see that I am doing wrong in my script that might cause it to run slow, or is there a better way to achieve what I'm trying to?

Thank you.

import arcpy, os, fnmatch, sys

def find(pattern, path=os.getcwd()):
    for path, dirs, files in os.walk(path):
        for filename in files:
            if fnmatch.fnmatch(filename, pattern): yield os.path.abspath(os.path.join(path, filename))

for mxdname in find('*.mxd',r'D:\GIS Projects\TEST'):
    mxd=arcpy.mapping.MapDocument(r'{}'.format(mxdname))
    print mxdname
    for lyr in arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd):
        if lyr.supports("DATASOURCE"):
            if lyr.dataSource == r"C:\GIS\Cty\2017 Orthos\2017_Orthos.gdb\Orthos_2017":
                lyr.replaceDataSource(r"D:\GIS\Cty\Orthos\County_Orthos.gdb", "FILEGDB_WORKSPACE", "County_Orthos")
                lyr.name = "County_Orthos"
                print 'Replaced Orthos'
    mxd.save()
    del mxd
0 Kudos
4 Replies
BlakeTerhune
MVP Regular Contributor

The slowness is not coming from your logic but rather the time it takes for ArcPy to "open" each MXD and look at all the data sources. If you have any missing data sources, that will cause the MXD to open more slowly. Also, if there are just a lot of layers from many different sources, that will also cause it to open slowly.

0 Kudos
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor