Python Script not running through Task Scheduler on Windows Server 2008

05-17-2012 07:11 AM
JennaBernabe1
New Contributor II
I have a python script I am trying to schedule on a server that's operating on Windows Server 2008.  I'm able to get the script to run manually from that server, but when I create a task to start it, there are no results. On the task scheduler window, the task shows that it's running, but there are no outputs or any other indication that it's actually running.

Since the script runs fine when I manually start it, I'm assuming that the problem is within a setting on Task Scheduler or the server itself.  I'm a novice working with scripts and task scheduler, so there might be something I'm overlooking..

Any insight to this problem is appreciated!
Tags (2)
18 Replies
MichaelVolz
Esteemed Contributor
Brian:

Can you provide a screenshot of the Edit Action page you have setup in Task Scheduler?

Also do you have the Task set to 1.) Run whether is logged on or not

2.) Run with highest privileges (even if the user is an Administrator on the server)
0 Kudos
collindegueurce
New Contributor III

I had the same problem - built a model that works fine, exported to python script which ran fine - but could not seem to get it to run as scheduled task and pulled my hair out for two days before I got it to work on my machine. There were many posts offering various solutions and I tried all of them to no avail. I tried running the script through a batch file, I tried changing the "start in" location, I tried running cmd as the program with various options in the arguments list. I guess all of these things were worth trying as they did seem to solve the problem for some people, but not others - namely me!

This finally worked for me (in addition to a fifth of whiskey):

I used this snippet to be sure I had the correct path to python.exe, as there are several instances of the file on my machine:

import sys

import platform

import imp