Python script executes in pyscripter but fails when trying to run as script in arccatalog.

Jump to solution
10-26-2020 08:58 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I've got a script that will execute fine if I run it in PyScripter.

However when I import the script into a toolbox in ArcCatalog it will not execute. 

I'm a novice with Python and I'm confused about is causing the issue.

The script is using pyPDF2 library and I've checked the Python environments in both C:\Python27\ArcGIS10x64 and ArcGIS10.5 to confirm that pyPDF2 package is installed. It is.

PyScripter is using the 10x64 environment and I'm curious how to confirm which one ArcCatalog is using.

Help is appreciated.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I appreciate all the responses..

I just realized I can get the results I'm looking for my removing the search cursor for SQLToday alltogether since since I already have that value in the earlier part of the script (DOHCases) (Line 58).

I just realized there's no need to query for that.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Instead of guessing what may or may not be working, what do the error messages say when you try to run the script as a script tool?  That is, if you check the messages from the tool, what are they?

0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Good point. 

I just double checked the script and it will successfully execute once and then fail on successive attempts unless I restart arccatalog. When I initially posted this question I had forgotten about that. 

I have no idea what this error means.

'NoneType' object has no attribute 'modules'
<attribute 'message' of 'exceptions.BaseException' objects>

I can post the script if you're interested.. It's relatively simple but I'm having a relatively hard time!

0 Kudos
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor