Python Label Expression

10-01-2013 12:36 PM
BartonGriesenauer
New Contributor II
I am trying to create one label expression that has two label options.  The first option will stack the parcel number on top of the lot number and the other option would stack the parcel number on top of deeded acreage.  The [LOTNUMBER] field, [PARCEL] field, are text fields the [DEEDACRES] is a double.  I have no python experience, did not think this expression would be this difficult to come up with.  I would appreciate any help.

def FindLabel ( [PARCEL] , [LOTNUMBER] , [DEEDACRES] 😞
  if long([LOTNUMBER]) >1:
    return "<CLR yellow='255'>" +  [PARCEL] + "</CLR>" + '\n' + [LOTNUMBER]
  else:
    return "<CLR yellow='255'>" +  [PARCEL] + "</CLR>" + '\n' + [DEEDACRES]
Tags (2)
15 Replies
T__WayneWhitley
Frequent Contributor
..at the very least, don't you have to convert the double to string?  Use 'str'
0 Kudos
T__WayneWhitley
Frequent Contributor
...and don't forget your 'closing' formatting tags, this works fine for experimental purposes for me - could have just changed the label font to yellow instead of using text formatting tags, unless you have other label classes or something.

The below was just fiddling around to mimic the same design you had, where my ID field is numeric:
def FindLabel ( [NAME], [ID] , [RECHAR]  ):
     if long( [RECHAR].split('-')[0] )<=80000:
         return "<CLR yellow='255'>"+ [RECHAR] + '\n' +  [NAME] + "</CLR>" 
     elif long( [RECHAR].split('-')[0]) > 80000:
          return "<CLR yellow='255'>"+ [NAME] + '\n' + str( [ID] ) + "</CLR>"

Hope that helps - also when you post code (another example of text tags), it will display correctly if you select (highlight) your code section and use the hashtag symbol (#)...which simply should place the tags in...
 goes at the beginning, I think you get my drift, just reversed them here to negate the effect?