Python for renaming file paths

04-28-2017 06:33 AM
KelseyQuinlan
New Contributor

Hello all,

I am fairly new to python and am having issues renaming file paths within a table. I need to replace all of my \ for / within a field. \ is an escape so it is not working. Here is a brief snippet of my code:

arcpy.CalculateField_management(in_table="Assess", field="IMAGELINK", expression="""!IMAGELINK!.replace(r"\","/")""", expression_type="PYTHON_9.3", code_block="")

I know there are easy ways to do this with VB and with field calculator but I am trying to automatic a much bigger table update.

edit: I've tried using \ \ instead and still had no luck.

edit 2: This is ultimately what worked for me, thank you Joshua

expression=r"""!IMAGELINK!.replace("\\","/")"""

Any advice is much appreciated! Thanks

0 Kudos
9 Replies
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

What about escaping the escape character "\\" .

0 Kudos
KelseyQuinlan
New Contributor

Yes, unfortunately " \ \" still bombs the script. not quite sure what I am missing here, I thought that would be the easy solution too.

Thanks for the reply!

0 Kudos
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

What do you mean by "bomb?"  Providing the specific error message is helpful for those trying to help resolve your issue.

0 Kudos
KelseyQuinlan
New Contributor

Sure thing,

New Script: arcpy.CalculateField_management(in_table="AssessVP", field="IMAGELINK", expression="""!IMAGELINK!.replace(r"\\","/")""", expression_type="PYTHON_9.3", code_block="")

Error Message: Runtime error Traceback (most recent call last): File "<string>", line 1, in <module> File "c:\program files (x86)\arcgis\desktop10.3\arcpy\arcpy\management.py", line 3457, in CalculateField raise e ExecuteError: ERROR 000539: SyntaxError: EOL while scanning string literal (<expression>, line 1) Failed to execute (CalculateField).

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

you are tripping over double quotes...

(r"\\","/") blah blah

try (r'\\', '/') blah blah