Select to view content in your preferred language

Python error question

01-22-2015 04:33 PM
PROBERT68
Frequent Contributor

I am a beginner and just starting to learn how to use Python I learned from Python Scripting for Map  Automation.

My question to you is that whenever I get an error I see the word Traceback or errors in highlight red in my python window. 

My question to you is do I need to have a pythonWin installed ? My computer at work does not have it but I use the python  Window inside ArcMap.

Are there site that can I read or learn about the Traceback error ? I am sure there are bunch of question that Traceback has in it.

So what does Traceback means and what does it do ?

Thanks

0 Kudos
34 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

yes Arcmap 10.2 is 32 bit as well

0 Kudos
PROBERT68
Frequent Contributor

Change of scernico, I am at home and have ArcGIS 10.1 and got to download Pyscripter and did some research on Pyscripter and how it works and so on. 

I found really good info about it here : Advanced Geographic Research: Software  This article explains how to set it up and run with Pyscripter.

Now I have something in my mind is Can I have ArcMap open while Pyscirpter open at the same time ?

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Yes...I do it all the time.  If everything is installed properly, you should be able to use

You just need to remember to use

import arcpy

before you try to use any arcpy functions

PROBERT68
Frequent Contributor

Hi Dan,

I am starting to work on using Pyscripter and I am learning how to use. Now the thing I have a trouble writing code I am using replaceWorkspace.  That code requires four parameters however when I write the code there is no pull up list to select  and click to choose from. Is something wrong with the Pyscripter  I need to fix the problem ?

0 Kudos
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Just remember the suggestion by Francisco Girón Gesteira‌ (Re: Python error question )