Need a sample script that queries an attribute and outputs result

Jump to solution
07-13-2018 04:15 PM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I'm new to Python and need a sample ArcPy script which would allow me to query a FC attribute in a .gdb and output the result to my C drive. My FC is name 'Approaches' and the attribute I need to query on is 'Approved' and the value in that attribute I want to pull is the "Yes" value. I would like to export that list of Approved Approaches to my C drive. I would also like to print the Name attribute value of those Approved Approaches. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RandyBurton
MVP Alum

A basic approach would look something like:

import arcpy

fc = r"C:\Path\To\database.gdb\Approaches" # feature class
fn = r"C:\Path\To\output.txt" # save file name

f = open(fn, 'w')

fields = ['Name', 'Approved'] # can add other fields such as Approved, if needed

whereClause = "Approved = 'Yes'"  # may need to modify, based on field type, how Y-N is stored

with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(fc, fields, where_clause=whereClause) as cursor:
    for row in cursor:
        f.write("{}\t{}".format(row[0], row[1])) # Name and Approved - to file
        print "{}\t{}".format(row[0], row[1]) # Name and Approved - to console if needed

f.close()
print "Done"‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍

(It will probably need some editing to work with your data.)

View solution in original post

9 Replies
RandyBurton
MVP Alum

A basic approach would look something like:

import arcpy

fc = r"C:\Path\To\database.gdb\Approaches" # feature class
fn = r"C:\Path\To\output.txt" # save file name

f = open(fn, 'w')

fields = ['Name', 'Approved'] # can add other fields such as Approved, if needed

whereClause = "Approved = 'Yes'"  # may need to modify, based on field type, how Y-N is stored

for row in cursor:
        print "{}\t{}".format(row[0], row[1]) # Name and Approved - to console if needed

f.close()
print "Done"‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍