loop through a layer and select each polygon and save as jpeg in ArcMap

Jump to solution
12-24-2020 08:07 AM
Official4
New Contributor

I'm a beginner in ArcPy and I want to perform some tasks using ArcPy but I am not getting results.

I have a layer named survey in my current MXD and I want to select each polygon in surveyand export to JPEG and this is my script:

mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument("CURRENT") 
df = arcpy.mapping.ListDataFrames(mxd)[0]
titleElement = arcpy.mapping.ListLayoutElements(mxd, "TEXT_ELEMENT")

rows = arcpy.SearchCursor("survey selection")
for row in rows: 
    titleElement = row.VendorFarm 
    query = '"FID"=' + str(row.FID)    
    arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management("survey selection", "NEW_SELECTION", query)     
    df.zoomToSelectedFeatures()      
    arcpy.RefreshActiveView()

del rows 
del row
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RandyBurton
MVP Alum

As @DavidPike suggests, you should use the da.SearchCursor.  I noticed that you are attempting to access and set a map title using ListLayoutElements .  This will return a list, and you will need to access the proper text element.  It might be easier if you use the dynamic map "Title" as this property can be accessed and changed.  Here's a code snippet which illustrates these ideas.  Since it looks like you are using shape files, you may need to make some changes.

feature = 'survey selection'
fields = ['OID@', 'VendorFarm'] # OID@ is ObjectID token (see search cursor help)
jpgPath = r"C:\Path\For\JPGs" # save location for jpgs

# clear any existing selections
arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management(feature, "CLEAR_SELECTION")

with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(feature, fields) as cursor:
    for FID, VendorFarm in cursor: # unpack each row by assigning to field name variables
        mxd.title = VendorFarm
        query = '"FID" = {}'.format(str(FID))
        arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management(feature, "NEW_SELECTION", query)