Joining Python Scripts outputs by using ModelBuilder

04-01-2016 03:36 PM
FereshtehAghyan
New Contributor II

Hi everyone,

I am new in python and have just started to write  some simple scripts similar to the following one:

# Import arcpy module

import arcpy, os, sys

#Parameters

L= arcpy.GetParameterAsText(0)

O= arcpy.GetParameterAsText(1)

O_4= arcpy.GetParameterAsText(2)

#Variables

O_4= O

#Select by location

arcpy.SelectLayerByLocation_management(O, "WITHIN", L,"", "NEW_SELECTION", "")

#Select by Attribute

arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management(O_4, "SWITCH_SELECTION", "")

#calculate field

arcpy.CalculateField_management(O, "Feild2", '"Warning"', "VB")

#calculate field

arcpy.CalculateField_management(O_4, "Field2", '"ERROR"', "VB")

When I attempt to join those scripts outputs (by using "Join" tool) in ModelBuilder; I get this error: <<Error:000229: Cannot pen \\psf\Home\Documents\Default.gdb\finaloutput ; Failed to execute (Merge)>>

I have also set my parameters as following:

Display Name         Data Type                     Type                             Direction

L                              Feature Layer               Required                     input

O                             Feature Layer               Required                     input

O_4                         Table                             Required                     output

Do you have any solution for that?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

Why do you bother asking for a parameter (O_4), if you're immediately going to overwrite it with "O"?

FereshtehAghyan
New Contributor II

Thats right! I am overwriting second "select by attribute" one by Calculate field , but should I keep it as a Parameter  and  variable (O_4) ?

0 Kudos
WesMiller
Regular Contributor III

is this the whole script? As Darren says your overwriting O_4 with O and then your overwriting "Warning" with "ERROR". What are each of the scripts trying to do?

FereshtehAghyan