How to merge hundreds of shapefiles into one gdb

07-09-2019 06:50 PM
DarcyKenyon1
New Contributor

Hi there

I am trying to merge a couple hundred shapefiles into one gdb, however, I only want to select shapefiles that contain "bpoly" in the name (as I will repeat for shapefiles that only contain other names with common expressions). When trying to do this manually, the merge tool has not been capable of running with up to 200 shapefiles. 

I have not used python script before but believe this will be the solution, if anyone has an idea of how to go about it that would be great. 

Thanks

Andrew 

0 Kudos
4 Replies
LanceCole
MVP Regular Contributor

Andrew, 

Please take a look at Ian Murray post in Python Script to Merge Files.  This would need to be modified to check for "bpoly" in the filename.  Another python sample source is Batch merge ArcGIS.

DarcyKenyon1
New Contributor

Thanks Lance

As I have never used python before I am unsure of what inputs I need to add to change the script to suit my needs. I am having trouble finding tutorials for python in arc or a directory to understand the terms used in the script. Do you have any other useful links that may help me? 

Thanks

Andrew 

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus
#Importing Modules  
import arcpy  
import os  
#Setting root workspace where files are located  
workspace = r"FilePath"  
#Making an empty list to put filepaths to feature classes in  
feature_classes = []  
#Walking workspace recursively checking type, and appending filepath to list  
for dirpath, dirnames, filenames in arcpy.da.Walk(workspace,datatype="FeatureClass", type="Polygon"):  
    for filename in filenames:  
        desc = arcpy.Describe(os.path.join(dirpath, filename)  
        if desc.shapeType == "Polygon":  
            feature_classes.append(os.path.join(dirpath, filename))  

#merging my list of feature classes to a new dataset  
arcpy.Merge_management(feature_classes, "C:\Path\MergedPolygons") ‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍