How export files pdf into multiple folders with the same name?

Jump to solution
03-08-2017 05:28 PM
VictorQuiroz1
New Contributor

I am not an expert on Python scripting but I undertand a few concepts about it.

I made a script that export multiple individual mxd and pdf with a specific same name, also on my script, I can make multiple folders with the same name from mxd, but I dont know how put all the files on the same folders made.

Is it possible export all the files mxd, pdf which has the same name into folders with the same name?

This my script:

import arcpy, os
import arcpy
from arcpy import env

wsp = r"D:\SedesolVQB\Proyectos\proyecto_PythonEjercicio\PracticasPython.mdb"
Shp = 'Estados'
pageNameField = "CVE_ENT" #<----this is the main field comun to save on folders, mxs and pdf

mxdSalida = r"D:\SedesolVQB\Proyectos\proyecto_PythonEjercicio\Mapas finales"
mxdOrigen = r"D:\SedesolVQB\Proyectos\proyecto_PythonEjercicio\Mxd\Practicas.mxd" #<---This is the maind mxd

#To Make diferent folder from pageNameField
with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(Shp,(pageNameField)) as cursor:
for folder, in cursor:
os.makedirs(os.path.join(mxdSalida, str(folder))) 

#Export to pdf file from each mxd and save mxd indivuals
for pageNum in range(1, mxd.dataDrivenPages.pageCount + 1):
mxd.dataDrivenPages.currentPageID = pageNum
pageName = mxd.dataDrivenPages.pageRow.getValue(pageNameField)

arcpy.mapping.ExportToPDF(mxd, os.path.join(mxdSalida, str(pageName) + ".pdf"))
mxdNombre = os.path.join(os.path.join(mxdSalida, str(pageName)),str(pageName)+".mxd")
mxd.saveACopy(mxdNombre)

print u"Exportando página {0} de {1}".format(str(mxd.dataDrivenPages.currentPageID), str(mxd.dataDrivenPages.pageCount))
print u"Guardando una copia de:{0}".format(str(pageName))

print "PROCESO TERMINADO"

The result is something like this:

D:\SedesolVQB\Proyectos\proyecto_PythonEjercicio\Mapas finales\01\01.mxd\\---> 01.pdf (Is shown outside)