geodatabase export to shapefiles

12-13-2016 12:36 PM
johncoon
New Contributor

I can't seem to find a tool in ArcMap 10.2.2 standard that allows you to export all the layers in my TOC to a directory

with each shapefile file name per layer in the TOC. I have a template geodatabase that I loaded shape file data into, then edited that data. Now I need to export some 100 plus layers from the geodatabase as shape files to update the original data.

Because of that, I'm looking for a Python sample that exports all the layers in my TOC  to a file location or a function that selects the current geodatabase and exports all the features to shape files. Do you just copy and paste Python code to run it?

Is this something that can be none if I've never used Python before. I didn't see a lot of help for it, but I might of been looking in the wrong location. I looked around for a VBA macro editor as well and could located that. I might have a chance with that.

Thank you

John

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
14 Replies
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

You will probably want to start with arcpy.mapping

MapDocument—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop 

This has some sample scripts of accessing the mxd and components.  Basically you will want to access the current .mxd, then the dataframes then the layers.  You should be able to loop thru those and export them.  Sorry, no code right now....but someone might have some.

0 Kudos
johncoon
New Contributor

Rebecca,

This is a good start, Thank you. I'm sure I can find samples, its knowing what those sample do is what I'll need after I get started.

Why don't they have built in tools for things like fix broken. If everyone who would move data for whatever reason gets a broken link why not have a tool to re-path to a directory.

quickly with having to write a script.

Thank you

John

0 Kudos
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Why don't they have built in tools for things like fix broken