Error when querying REST API

Jump to solution
02-05-2021 08:08 AM
MollyMoore
Occasional Contributor

I am pretty new to working with the REST API and I'm trying to query a feature service on our organization's server using arcpy. Here is my code:

fs_url = r"https://maps.waterlandlife.org/arcgis/rest/services/PNHP/NHAEdit/FeatureServer/1/query?where=STATUS='C'&outFields=*&returnGeometry=true&f=JSON" 
fs = arcpy.FeatureSet()
fs.load(fs_url)

I have tried to change the options for nearly all of the parameters here and tried including other parameters or excluding some of these. I keep getting the following error:

RuntimeError: RecordSetObject: Cannot open table for Load

I'm able to load the feature set fine without the query and have looked at a ton of resources online and can't find any solutions that have worked. Can anyone help me out with what I'm doing wrong? Thanks!

0 Kudos
3 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

In this case, the FeatureSet - ArcGIS Pro | Documentation gives an example, FeatureSet example 2.  The query needs to be passed as a separate argument and not part of the URL.

View solution in original post

by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I think the list items need to be in quotes.

nha_expression = "NHA_JOIN_ID IN ('{}')".format("','".join(f for f in nha_ids))

to make it

"NHA_JOIN_ID IN ('xxx42966','xxx42967','xxx43009')"

0 Kudos
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Swap the double and single quotes:   SQL reference for query expressions used in ArcGIS—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

Strings must always be enclosed in single quotation marks in queries, for example: STATE_NAME = 'California'

9 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

have you supplied a token with the url? &token=

0 Kudos
MollyMoore
Occasional Contributor

I have not. I figured since it was letting me use the feature service layer without the query that this wasn't the issue. But, I'll try this now.

0 Kudos
JoshuaBixby