ERROR 000871 or Schema Lock Trying to write over shapefiles in iteration. UPDATE

07-10-2021 10:33 AM
AndyLaney
New Contributor

Forgive me, my language is probably off - I'm very new to programming and this is the first real script I've been asked to write. It's simple, runs through some geoprocessing tools and then prints out a map. When I run it outside of a loop it works fine, however when I get to the point in the second iteration where a mask is extracted from an RGB image file it fails, this is the error I get:

File "C:/Iteration.py", line 34, in <module>
     APN8_Raster.save(Extract_by_Mask)
RuntimeError: ERROR 000871: Output Raster: Unable to delete the output C:\Extract_RSF.

I've also gotten a schema lock error, my worry is that the shapefiles I'm looking to overwrite are locked for some reason. I run this script through PyCharm - ArcGIS Pro is closed so for the life of me I cannot figure out why it locks or why it cannot be overwritten. I believe it will do the same thing with the other 2 shape-files required in the process that need to be overwritten in every iteration.

Here's the code:

import arcpy
from arcpy import env
env.workspace = r"C:\Users\nahgl\Firewatch\Firewatch.gdb"
env.overwriteOutput = True

fc = "Parcels"
field = ["APN_8"]
RGB_of_RSF = arcpy.Raster("RSF_RGBe_FW2020")
Parcels = "Parcels"
Buildings = "Buildings"
SQL_Expression = "APN_8 = '26603028'"
Map_Expression = "OBJECTID = 1"
Symbology50 = r"C:\Users\nahgl\Firewatch\Python\Symbology_50.lyrx"
Symbology100 = r"C:\Users\nahgl\Firewatch\Python\Symbology_100.lyrx"

with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(fc, field) as cursor:
    for row in cursor:
        print(row[0])
        APN = "APN_8 = " + "'" + row[0] + "'"

# Process: Select Parcel (Select) (analysis)
        Selected_Parcel = r"C:\Users\nahgl\Firewatch\Firewatch.gdb\Parcels_Select"
        arcpy.analysis.Select(in_features=Parcels, out_feature_class=Selected_Parcel, where_clause=APN)

# Process: Select Building (Select) (analysis)