Copying rasters to new geodatabase question

Jump to solution
03-30-2017 08:27 AM
StephenTham
New Contributor II

I am new to ArcPy and python.  I am currently working on exercise 9.2 in Python Scripting for ArcGIS by Paul Zanbrtgen.  The question is pretty simple and is asking to write a scrip that copies rasters into a new Geodatabase.  I run print statements and everything is fine until I reach the  arcpy.CopyRaster_management(raster, outraster).  I am wondering if there is something wrong with the formatting of the file names. It throws a 999999 error.  How long did it take you to really become comfortable in the Arcpy environment and with python in general. My goal is to build python based geoprocessing tools one day. 

import arcpy
from arcpy import env
out_path = "C:/EsriPress/Python/Data/Exercise09"
env.workspace = out_path
rasterlist = arcpy.ListRasters()
arcpy.CreatePersonalGDB_management(out_path + "/Results", "myrasters.gdb")
for raster in rasterlist:
    desc = arcpy.Describe(raster)
    rname = desc.baseName
    outraster = out_path + "/Results/myrasters.gdb/" + rname
    arcpy.CopyRaster_management(raster, outraster)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

I am not a Python guy, but a glance on your script, you are creating a Personal Geodatabase with extension .GDB

1. Either change the extension to MDB (i.e. myrasters.mdb)

2. or use arcpy.CreateFileGDB_management

The second one is more preferable.

Think Location

View solution in original post

3 Replies
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

I am not a Python guy, but a glance on your script, you are creating a Personal Geodatabase with extension .GDB

1. Either change the extension to MDB (i.e. myrasters.mdb)

2. or use arcpy.CreateFileGDB_management

The second one is more preferable.

Think Location
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor