convert VB expression to python

02-23-2016 07:32 AM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I am new to python.  I am using a model to automate a data update process.  Part of the model is to calculate a new field by concatenating 3 other fields and left trimming to remove white space as needed.  Below is the VB expression.  When I use python to automatically run this model it fails at the expression to calculate the field.   Below is the VB expression.  I cannot find an example of how this would look as a python expression.  Can anyone help?

FullStreet =

LTrim( [LOCN] &" " &  LTrim( [LOCD] & " " &  [LOCS]))

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Nita L Hester

0 Kudos
33 Replies
KenBuja
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Please note GeoNet Help​ help space is for questions about GeoNet itself, not about specific programming questions. I'm moving it to the Python​ space. Also, using tags when asking questions will make it easier to be searched on.

AdrianWelsh
MVP Honored Contributor

Could you try .lstrip()?

So !LOCN!.lstrip() + " " + !LOCD!.lstrip() + " " + !LOCS!.lstrip()

Would that work?

by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Thanks, I tried this and it works, but I need to remove the white spaces if there is no LOCN and or LOCD data.

0 Kudos
FreddieGibson
Occasional Contributor III

You'll want to look at the python help for concatenating strings. The simplest option would be as follows.

!LOCN!.lstrip() + " " + !LOCD!.lstrip() + " " + !LOCS!

A cleaner example would be to use string.format

"{0} {1} {2}".format(!LOCN!.lstrip(), !LOCD!.lstrip(), !LOCS!.lstrip())

String Concatenation and Formatting

Python String lstrip() Method

by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Thanks, I tried this and it works, but I need to remove the white spaces if there is no LOCN and or LOCD data.  How do I remove white space from after adding it between the fields if there is no associated data for both or either of the 1st 2 fields?

0 Kudos
AdrianWelsh
MVP Honored Contributor