Changing Column Order with Python Export CSV

Jump to solution
12-04-2013 07:25 AM
MatthewSchmitt1
New Contributor
If I wanted to change the order of columns and export a shapefiles attribute table to csv is there any way to do that with the following script? (I'm still really new at python sorry)

Currently using this script:

import arcpy, csv fc = "E:\HUC2_DATA\HUC02\NewShapes\Result.gdb\HUC02Transect200m15pt" #input feature class rows = arcpy.SearchCursor(fc) csvFile = csv.writer(open("E:\HUC2_DATA\HUC02\NewShapes\HUC02Test.csv", 'wb')) #output csv fieldnames = [f.name for f in arcpy.ListFields(fc)]  allRows = [] for row in rows:     rowlist = []     for field in fieldnames:         rowlist.append(row.getValue(field))     allRows.append(rowlist)      csvFile.writerow(fieldnames) for row in allRows:     csvFile.writerow(row)

Can I augment this script to reformat the table?

Visual example (This comes out of SQL so there's no commas):

pointID Latitude Longitude HydroID UnqHydroID UnqTransID OBJECTID IS_Xing
1 45.35959 -72.30345 337314 337314001 33731400100 1 0
2 45.35805 -72.30215 337314 337314001 33731400085 2 0

to

Longitude Latitude HydroID UnqHydroID UnqTransID OBJECTID IS_Xing
-72.30345 45.35959 337314 337314001 33731400100 1 0
-72.30215 45.35805 337314 337314001 33731400085 2 0
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JohnReiser
New Contributor III
Take a look at the csv.DictWriter class: http://docs.python.org/2/library/csv.html

You can then specify a dictionary to writerow, with the order specified as a list when the DictWriter was created.

You should then also change your loop to be a list of dictionaries instead of a list of lists, aka a 2D array, as it is now.

Not tested, but this should work: