Calculate WKT in Field using ArcPy

Jump to solution
05-07-2018 06:01 AM
RobertFord1
Occasional Contributor

Thanks for any help!

I'm relatively new to ArcPy and saw that there is a way to return the WKT of a polygon via SHAPE@WKT but am unsure how to use this. 

My main goal is to obtain the WKT for each feature in a shapefile, export the shapefile table with the WKT field, then import to SQL Server 2008 R2 using STGeomFromText. 

I found this on StackExchange but am a little lost on how to implement this over multiple features within a shapefile.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RobertFord1
Occasional Contributor

Thanks guys! I figured it out!

I followed this guide where it says your SQL Server database login username and schema have to have the same name. After I created a schema with the same name as my login, I was able to use the Copy Features tool.

Now as a bonus question, do I need to have an Enterprise license to allow ArcMap to edit these SQL Server tables?

Thanks again!

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Unless your shapes are extremely simple, your WKT representations will be truncated since shape files have a maximum text field length of 254 characters.

You should be able to load the shape file into ArcGIS Destkop, connect to SQL Server, and then copy the data over.

Outside of Esri, a quick Google search will show several approaches that will work.  For example, SQL Server 2008 R2 Map Tips: How To Import Shapefiles Into SQL Server and Aggregate Spatial Data. – ...  and OGR2OGR Patterns for SQL Server | Alastair Aitchison  .

RobertFord1
Occasional Contributor

Thanks Joshua!

I have used Shape2SQL but it doesn't seem to like shapefiles with too many features. The file I am trying to convert to SQL Server has around 40,000 features and when I try to use Shape2SQL, it seems to finish but the table is nowhere to be found in the SQL database.