Basic Python Question

Jump to solution
04-27-2017 06:53 AM
TiffanyRufo
Occasional Contributor II

How do you get the script you are writing to look at data in an AGOL feature layer?

I am brand new to Python and am trying to write a script that will send out an email notification to specific departments and individuals based on the type of report/complaint. I know that I need it to:

1. query the database for new reports
  2. Sort the new reports based on report type 
  3. Send a notification to specific individuals based on that report type. (Example:if it is a pothole complaint send it to our street department guys)

I have seen several different threads about this same thing with snippets of code here and there, but I haven't found anything about how you direct python to an AGOL feature layer to get the data to start with.

I know that this is a pretty in-depth scripting project for an absolute beginner, but I don't really want anyone to write it for me I would very much like to learn how to write this myself if possible. 

I found this GITS :: Code :: mailer  that I would like to use for the email portion, I just need to write the query section.

Any help or direction to resources would be greatly appreciated. I don't think I know the correct keywords to search for to find what I need.... Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TiffanyRufo

Found out how to do it (get a script to search a feature Layer in AGOL) Download and use ArcREST.

import arcrest

#get reference to your feature layer Rest endpoint

fl = arcrest.agol.FeatureLayer(url='your/urlrestendpoint/0')

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

I would start by spending some time reading up on and getting familiar with the ArcGIS API for Python:

Script and automate your Web GIS