Automated Kriging using Python and cannot use my outputs for another tool.

04-24-2020 05:28 PM
MeganWhite2
New Contributor II

Hello,

I am trying to make a script that runs the Spatial Analyst Kriging interpolation tool on a batch of z values/fields in a point feature class. I am using the script wizard to set up the parameters, which is why you don't see the GetParameterAsText properties being defined in my code. I have run the script successfully in ArcMap 10.7.1, however I want to set symbology automatically for each Kriging output. I am failing to write the code for this and am hoping to receive some advice. Please note that I am a beginner in Python and am still learning to make customized scripts.

The issue is (despite reading help pages) I can't successfully access the output rasters (that I save with the .save() function) in my code to be used as an input for another tool. 

I have been debugging lots by running the Apply Symbology From Layer tool on only individual rasters from my Kriging outputs, but the goal is to run it as a loop on all of them. This is what I have found & tried:

1. The ApplySymbologyFromLayer tool works when I run it manually in the ArcMap Python Window. This is all I have to type since the working environment is set: arcpy.ApplySymbologyFromLayer_management("Benzene", r"G:\586\FinalProject\krigingsymbology.lyr").

2. In my code, I have tried to both write the full raw path and use os.join() to access the rasters 

3. The outputs I am trying to access are FGDBR rasters.

This is what I have thought of for potential solutions, but I don't want to resort to these...

1. Using the arcpy.gp.Kriging_sa instead because its parameters require a specified output name to be set, which is not the case for arcpy.sa. I could try to set the symbology property for the output parameter in the script wizard.

2. Create a whole separate tool that simply allows the Apply Symbology From Layer Tool to be run on multiple user-selected rasters.