Automate overwrite web layer, feature class

06-14-2018 12:53 AM
EinarDørheim1
New Contributor III

Hi 

I'm trying to automate an update process for one of my hosted features in portal. So far I have:

1. Solved the automatic download and adjustment of the file in question. (using powershell/task scheduler)

2. exportet the python code that runs the "Geocode Addresses" tool on my file, saves it in a file gdb. 

3. manually published the feature class with the "overwrite web layer" function. 

My challange is to automate step 3, and connect it to step 2. 

Please keep in mind that I'm completely new to scripting/python. 

I'm currently using ArcGIS Pro 2.1.0, and have admin rights on the portal. 

I have looked at thise sites, and think they describe partly how to solve my issue, I'm just not able to pick out the relevant parts and build a script that works for my particular problem..

community.esri.com "using python to overwrite a feature layer"

developers.arcgis.com python, overwriting feature layers

esri updating-your-hosted-feature-services-with-arcgis-pro-and-the-arcgis-api-for-python

79 Replies
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Not sure if that was a type-o, but check your portal variable.  You have an extra '.' before the com.

portal = "https://sdc01acgicpw01s.corp..com/portal/

ClintonCooper2
New Contributor III

I removed the company name and forgot to take out the extra period  

0 Kudos
ClintonCooper2
New Contributor III

but now I am running into another error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 42, in <module>
IndexError: list index out of range

at line 42 is : 

sdItem = gis.content.search("{} AND owner:{}".format(sd_fs_name, user), item_type="Service Definition")[0]

Is that due to there being spaces in the name of the Map being published?

0 Kudos
JakeSkinner