arcpy on linux

12-21-2016 11:56 AM
DanielPaske
New Contributor

Our users are preparing to upgrade their ESRI client tools (ArcCatalog, etc) from 10.2 to 10.4.1. Our SDE database is an Oracle 11g database (11.2.0.4) running on Oracle Linux. Our users have python scripts to register tables to the geodatabase. They would like these scripts to run on the database server instead of their client PC's. The database server has python 2.6.6 installed. I do not think the server has any SDE server products installed or running on it. 

I have tried to run a python script on the server and I get an error - "no module named arcpy" - on the "import arcpy" line of the script.

Hope this makes sense, I am new with ESRI tools and processes.

Thanks in advance,

Dan 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

If you really need to run them on the server with Oracle, the easiest way in my opinion would be to install the ArcGIS Desktop software on that server.  That way all the Arcpy modules and paths will be set, and the ArcGIS software will already know what python paths is has.

However, ArcCatalog on a user machine should work just as well when working with SDE databases, and is the preferred way vs external commands.

What is the reasoning behind running the commands on the Oracle server itself?

If you do need to get the Python setup on that server without installing the software, check out some of the links on /blogs/dan_patterson/2016/05/09/the-links?sr=search&searchId=f606304c-d8cc-4d09-b05c-08b3771f0a08&se...‌ and I'll cc Dan_Patterson‌ who wrote that blog and might have some suggestions.

btw - I use SDE for SQL, not Oracle, but the process should be the same.